Huntsville Committee of 100 History

Committee of 100 413


The Huntsville Committee of 100 was formed in 1995 by a small group of small business leaders with a sincere interest in the progress of Huntsville. They wanted to form a business organization that was active in local political issues, primarily:

  • Develop long-term strategies that impact economic development and improve public education.
  • Attact and support visionary, business-oriented candidates to run for local elected office.
  • Communicate with local elected leaders on business issues.

Founding Members:

  • Hall Bryant, Owner, H.C. Blake Co.
  • David Byers, former Owner, Byers Nursery
  • Jeff Enfinger, Chairman, Enfinger Steele Development Inc.
  • David Johnston, V.P., G. W. Jones & Sons
  • Dr. Oscar Maxwell, Physician
  • Gene Monroe, former Owner, Monroe Business Equipment
  • John Riche (deceased), former President, A. C. Inc.
  • Joe Ritch, Attorney, Sirote & Permutt

Past Chairs:

  • Dr. Oscar Maxwell, Physician – Chairman 1995-1996
  • David Johnston, V.P., G. W. Jones & Sons – Chairman 1997-1998
  • John Riche (deceased), President, A.C. Inc. – Chairman 1999-2000
  • Scott McLain, President, Coldwell Banker McLain Real Estate – Chairman 2001-2003
  • Dick Reeves, CEO, Angel Investor Management Group – Chairman 2004-2005
  • Evans Quinlivan, President, National Bank of Commerce — Chairman 2006-2007
  • Dr. Bill Sullins, Optometrist – Chairman 2008-2009
  • Donna Lamb, Lamb Commercial Real Estate – Chairman 2010-2011
  • Dave Hargrove, Regional Manager, AT&T – Chairman 2012-2013


Please join us on April 15 at the Davidson Center for a debate among superintendent candidates for Madison County Schools. More details are available at this link:

Contact Details

228 Holmes Avenue NE, Suite 207
Huntsville, AL 35801

P.O. Box 18864
Huntsville, AL 35804

Carol Madry Bell, Executive Director
(256) 651-8712

Danielle Moran, PR and Special Projects
(256) 227-0423

Sarah Oglesby, Finance and Membership
(256) 665-5704

© 2013 Huntsville Committee of 100 g
Powered by WishList Member - Membership Software