Our History

The Huntsville Committee of 100, originally incorporated as the Huntsville Industrial Expansion Committee of 100, and its political action arm, BizPac, was formed in 1995 to stimulate economic development efforts in the community and support qualified business-oriented candidates for elected offices. The original 8 founders were Hall Bryant, David Byers, Jeff Enfinger, David Johnston, Dr. Oscar Maxwell, Gene Monroe, John Riche, and Joe Ritch. These founders intended that the Committee of 100 be non-partisan and all efforts to promote it as partisan were to be avoided. To this day, the non-partisan nature of the Committee of 100 stands for believing we are better together than apart to improve our community and region.  These founders established the organization to work in three main areas of focus, each intertwined with one another: high-quality public education, cooperative local government, and long-term economic development.

Membership was limited to individuals only and offered to business leaders of influence in the community. Since founding the organization, the Committee of 100 has been a leading business-oriented influence organization focused on long-term local community building. This characterization continues today as well as the three main areas of focus established in 1995. Currently, the Committee of 100 consists of over 330 members from Limestone, Madison, and Morgan counties of which 57 of these members are young professionals.

A Message from the Founders

Three Main Entities

Committee of 100

Committee of 100 focuses on long-term economic development and public education and develops/leads key community initiatives.


BizPac engages in local political races for Huntsville Mayor, City Council and Board of Education; Madison Mayor and City Council; Madison County Commission and Madison County Schools Superintendent and Board of Education.

Creative Cities Fund

Creative Cities Fund is the philanthropic arm of the Committee of 100 and focuses on funding smart, creative ideas that stimulate economic growth and education.


The Committee of 100 operates collaboratively across 3 key pillars.

High Quality Public Education

Long Term Economic Development

Cooperative Local Government